PBR to Provide Fans Free Global Digital Streams of Velocity Tour Finals and Inaugural PBR Global Cup

By: Heather Croze  Wednesday, October 25, 2017 @ 8:30 PM

Tanner Byrne and Zane Lambert ride at the Velocity Tour Finals this weekend in Las Vegas.


PUEBLO, Colo. – PBR (Professional Bull Riders) has announced plans for free live digital streams of two of the sport’s biggest events of the year – the PBR Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour Finals (Oct. 28-30 at South Point Arena in Las Vegas) and the inaugural PBR Global Cup (Nov. 9-11 at Rogers Place in Edmonton, Canada).

The high-quality production will feature full broadcast teams and multi-camera set-ups.

To access the Velocity Tour Finals and PBR Global Cup digital broadcasts, fans are encouraged to download the free PBR app (for iOS and Android) or visit PBR.com during the event days.

“The production quality of these events demonstrates PBR’s commitment to providing a world-class digital experience to give fans the best live access to must-see PBR events,” said Sean Gleason, CEO, PBR. “If fans can’t make it to Las Vegas and Edmonton, this is the next best way to experience some of the biggest and most meaningful bull riding events in the history of the PBR.”

Amid one of the tightest points battles in PBR history, the Velocity Tour Finals is expected to crackle with playoff intensity – and huge implications for the world title race.

Among the 41 riders set to compete are PBR Canada Champions Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan) and Zane Lambert (Westbourne, Manitoba).

Lambert rode his way to the 2017 PBR Canada Championship last weekend and is now one of just two riders to hold multiple national titles, previously taking the national glory in 2013. (Aaron Roy – 2008, 2010 & 2012)

For 2015 PBR Canada Champion Byrne, the Velocity Tour Finals will mark his first event back from injury, sidelined since August with fractures in both his wrist and ankle.

The multi-day, multi-round tournament will feature an epic battle between PBR World No. 1 Derek Kolbaba and PRCA reigning champion and current No. 1 Sage Kimzey.  Five of the Top-10 riders in the PBR world standings will also compete, including No. 5 Jess Lockwood, No. 8 Joao Ricardo Vieira and No. 9 riders Fabiano Vieira and Dener Barbosa.

At the Velocity Finals one rider can earn 520 points toward the PBR world standings prior to the World Finals. With the Top 5 cowboys in the world separated by only 655 points, the pressure will be intense to deliver high-scoring rides.

In addition to Kimzey, former PRCA champions J.W. Harris and Cody Teel will compete, along with champions from around the world attempting to qualify for the PBR World Finals, including: PBR Australian champion Troy Wilkinson; PBR Brazil champion Jose Vitor Leme; PBR Canada champion Lambert; PBR Mexico invite Francisco Morales; National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association champion (NIRA) Cole Melancon; National High School Rodeo Association champion Trey Holston; Indian National Finals Rodeo champion Cody Jesus; and PBR Touring Pro Division Champion Ezekiel Mitchell.

Half of the Top 50-ranked professional bull riders in the world will compete at the Velocity Finals, which can qualify up to five athletes for the prestigious PBR World Finals (Nov. 1-5 at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas). Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour Finals Qualifiers:

Derek Kolbaba - Walla Walla, Washington

Jess Lockwood- Volborg, Montana

Joao Ricardo Vieira- Itatinga, São Paulo, Brazil

Fabiano Vieira - Pérola, Paraná, Brazil

Dener Barbosa - Paulo de Faria, São Paulo, Brazil

Cody Teel - Kountze, Texas

Claudio Montanha Jr. - Ribeirão dos Indios, São Paulo, Brazil

Cody Nance - Paris, Tennessee

Emilio Resende - Santa Helena do Goiás, Goiás, Brazil

Brennon Eldred - Sulphur, Oklahoma

Luciano De Castro - Guzolandia, São Paulo, Brazil

Ramon de Lima - São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

Cody Campbell - Summerville, Oregon

Lachlan Richardson - Gresford, New South Wales, Australia

Troy Wilkinson - Upper Horton, New South Wales, Australia

Koal Livingston - Burleson, Texas

J.W. Harris - Mullin, Texas

Alex Marcilio - Macaubal, São Paulo, Brazil

Skeeter Kingsolver - McLouth, Kansas

Cody Rodeo Tyler - Guthrie, Oklahoma

Kurt Shephard - Atherton, Queensland, Australia

Zane Lambert – Westbourne, Manitoba, Canada

Reese Cates - Monticello, Arkansas

Alex Cardozo – Indaiatuba, São Paulo, Brazil

Robson Aragao – Aracaju, Sergipe, Brazil

Michael Lane - Tazewell, Virginia

Jose Vitor Leme - Ribas do Rio Pardo, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil

Brandon Davis - Cabot, Arkansas

Taylor Toves - Stephenville, Texas

Ezekiel Mitchell - Baytown, Texas

Colten Jesse - Konawa, Oklahoma

Jesse Tillman - Olathe, Kansas

Francisco Morales - Irapuato, Guanajuato, Mexico

Sage Kimzey - Weatherford, Oklahoma

Cody Ford - Stanfeild, Oregon

Tanner Byrne - Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

Robson Palermo - Rio Branco, Acre, Brazil

Wallace Vieira de Oliveira - Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

Cole Melancon - Liberty, Texas

Cody Jesus - Sawmill, Arizona

Trey Holston - Ft. Scott, Kansas


Following the Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour Finals (Oct. 29-30) and Built Ford Tough World Finals (Nov. 1-5), both in Las Vegas, Nevada, Edmonton, Alberta and Rogers Place will host the inaugural PBR Global Cup on Nov. 9-11.

The first night will feature the Canadian qualifier, where the final nine members of Team Canada will be named, followed by a two-night showdown between the host nation, Australia, Brazil, Mexico and the United States. 

Tickets for the highly anticipated first stop of the inaugural Global Cup in Edmonton, Alberta are on sale now and can be purchased at RogersPlace.com.