Flawless Gilmar Santana Wins PBR Canada Touring Pro Division Event in Brooks, Alberta

By: Kacie Albert  Friday, May 10, 2024 @ 11:45 PM

Gilmar Santana won the Koye Larson Memorial PBR. Photo: Covy Moore/CovyMoore.com.

BROOKS, Alta. – As the 2024 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada season continued Friday night in Brooks, Alberta, Gilmar Santana (Leduc, Alberta) reached a crucial career milestone, going a perfect 2-for-2 to win his career first event, victorious at the Touring Pro Division’s Koye Larson Memorial PBR.

Riding at just his third career PBR event, Santana was quick to strike in Round 1, delivering the second-best score as he covered Smog (Kinky Buckers) for 84 points.

Sanatana then clinched the victory in the championship round when he logged the high-marked ride of the night, teaming with High Voltage (Wilson Rodeo) for an unrivaled 87.5 points.

The golden finish earned Santana a crucial 59 national points. He surged from unranked to No. 11 in the race for the 2024 PBR Canada Championship, now 257.5 points back of No. 1 Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan).

Coverchuk was shutout inside Centennial Regional Arena, unable to grow his lead in the standings as he chases his record-tying third PBR Canada Championship. The veteran contender was tossed by Cadillac Style (Kinky Buckers) in 3.41 seconds in Round 1of the Koye Larson Memorial PBR.

Weston Davidson (Strongfield, Saskatchewan) was second, netting 33 national points.

Despite bucking off Rust Bucket (Vold Rodeo) in 5.91 seconds in Round 1, Davidson made the most of his renewed opportunity in the championship round. Drawing Watermelon Sugar Hi (Kinky Buckers), Davidson remained in perfect time with the powerful animal athlete, reaching the requisite 8 with ease for 86.5 points.

In the national standings, Davidson rose from No. 10 to No. 7, climbing within 227 points of No. 1 Coverchuk.

Chanse Switzer (Hazenmore, Saskatchewan) parlayed a Round 1 win into a third-place finish overall.

Switzer catapulted to an early lead after riding Bull Dozzer (Skori Bucking Bulls) for 84.5 points in the opening round. The Saskatchewan man, however, fell short of the win when he was launched by Grand Funk (Kinky Buckers) in 4.65 seconds in the final round.

Collecting 26 national points, Switzer solidified his grasp on the No. 3 rank in Canada. He is now 136.5 points behind the top spot.

Three-time PBR Canada Champion Aaron Roy (Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan) was fourth courtesy of his 83-point ride on Housefire (Eno Bucking Bulls) in Round 1.

On the hunt for his unprecedented fourth national title, Roy earned 19 national points to rise from No. 18 to No. 13 in the standings.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Tanner Eno (Coronation, Alberta).

Eno earned 16 national points for his 82.5-point effort atop Hou’s Sippin (Vold Rodeo) in Round 1. He gained four positions in the standings, climbing from No. 19 to No. 15.

In the bull pen, Grand Funk bucked to the Bull of the Event honor. He was marked an unmatched 44.5 points for his buckoff of Switzer in the championship round.

The 2024 PBR Canada seasons continues Saturday, May 11 in Camrose, Alberta. Action for the Touring Pro Division’s Rose City Invitational at Encana Arena gets underway at 7:00pm MDT.

Stay tuned in to PBRCanada.com and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
Koye Larson Memorial PBR
Centennial Regional Arena – Brooks, Alberta
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Gilmar Santana, 84-87.5-171.50-59 Points.
2. Weston Davidson, 0-86.5-86.50-33 Points.
3. Chanse Switzer, 84.5-0-84.50-26 Points.
4. Aaron Roy, 83-0-83.00-19 Points.
5. Tanner Eno, 82.5-0-82.50-16 Points.
6. Coy Robbins, 81-0-81.00-14 Points.
Cody Coverchuk, 0-0-0.00
Jake Gardner, 0-0-0.00
Nick Tetz, 0-0-0.00
Jared Parsonage, 0-0-0.00
Tyler Craig, 0-0-0.00
Ashton Sahli, 0-0-0.00
Jordan Hansen, 0-0-0.00
Fabian Dueck, 0-0-0.00
Chad Hartman, 0-0-0.00
Micheal Ostashek, 0-0-0.00
Wyatt Laughlin, 0-0-0.00
Eric O'Flynn, 0-0-0.00
Griffin Koester, 0-0-0.00
Keaton Martz, 0-0-0.00
Stefan Tonita, 0-0-0.00
Brock Radford, 0-0-0.00
Cody Fraser, 0-0-0.00
Cauy Schmidt, 0-0-0.00
Wade Marshall, 0-0-0.00
Coy Doore, 0-0-0.00
Elijah Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Dixon Tattrie, 0-0-0.00
Alison Trindade, 0-0-0.00