Team Canada Riders Announced Ahead of 2022 PBR Global Cup USA on March 5 in Arlington, Texas

By: Kacie Albert  Thursday, February 10, 2022 @ 10:42 AM

The roster for Team Canada ahead of the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, has been set.

ARLINGTON, Tex. (February 10, 2022) – Ahead of the 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, the PBR today announced the complete five-rider rosters that will represent each of the six teams inside AT&T Stadium as they compete for national pride, the very dirt they ride upon, and the title of “Toughest Nation on Dirt.” A veteran Team Canada will be led by two-time Canadian Champion Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan) and 2020 PBR Canada Champion Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan).   

The fifth edition of the PBR Global Cup, the only nation vs. nation bull riding competition, will make its third stop at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on March 5, 2022. The team tournament debuted in Edmonton, Alberta, in November 2017, visited Sydney, Australia, in June 2018, and made subsequent stops in Arlington in February 2019 and 2020.

The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA will feature six teams representing Australia, Brasil, Canada, Mexico, and the United States. For their home-nation advantage, the USA delegation will field two squads via the Eagles and all Native American Wolves.

At the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, each team will be comprised of five competing riders, all selected by the nation’s coach.

The one-day event will feature two rounds of competition, where three riders from each team will attempt one bull. Throughout those rounds, every rider from each team must attempt a minimum of one bull. Following the initial rounds, each team will select one rider to attempt the nation’s final bull in the bonus round. The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA Champion will be the team with the top combined score through their seven outs.

Those rosters are:

  • TEAM CANADA: Jordan Hansen (Okotoks, Alberta), Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan), Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan), Jared Parsonage (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan) and Brock Radford(De Winton, Alberta).
  • TEAM USA EAGLES: Mason Taylor (Maypearl, Texas), Chase Dougherty (Decatur, Texas), Boudreaux Campbell (Crockett, Texas), Stetson Wright (Milford, Utah) and Dalton Kasel (Muleshoe, Texas).
  • TEAM USA WOLVES: Stetson Lawrence (Chippewa and Sioux – Williston, North Dakota), Keyshawn Whitehorse (Navajo – McCracken Springs, Utah), Cannon Cravens (Cherokee – Porum, Oklahoma), Cody Jesus (Navajo – Window Rock, Arizona) and Dakota Louis (Cheyenne and Blackfeet – Browning, Montana).
  • TEAM AUSTRALIA: Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland, Australia), Ky Hamilton (Mackay, Queensland, Australia), Cody Heffernan (Singleton, New South Wales, Australia), Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland, Australia), and TBC rider.
  • TEAM BRASIL: Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, MS, Brasil), Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, SP, Brasil), Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, SP, Brasil), Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul, SP, Brasil) and Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, SP, Brasil).
  • TEAM MEXICO: Alvaro Alvarez Aguilar (La Punta, Lagos de Moreno, Jalisco, Mexico), Edgar Durazo (Moctezuma, Sonora, Mexico), Javier Garcia (Baja, Mexico), Jorge Valdiviezo (La Mision, Mexico) and Francisco Morales (Irapuato, Guanajuato, Mexico).

In late January, PBR announced the coaches who have been tasked with leading each team.

Four-time PBR World Finals qualifier Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada) who will assume leadership of Team Canada for the first time.

The remaining coaches are: Ross Coleman (Molalla, Oregon) who will lead Team USA Eagles, Ryan Dirteater (Hulbert, Oklahoma) who will coach Team USA Wolves, Troy Dunn (Bloomsbury, Queensland, Australia) who will lead Team Australia, Robson Palermo (Rio Branco Acre, Brasil) who will helm Team Brasil and Gerardo Venegas (Juarez, Mexico) who will pilot Team Mexico.

While Coach Dunn led the selection process for the Team Australia roster, the nation will welcome Eddie Fisher (Mackay, Queensland, Australia) to the coaching staff. He will lead Team Australia inside the home of the NFL’s Dallas Cowboys, architecting the team’s rider vs. bull matchups, due to a conflict preventing Dunn from travelling stateside.

Fisher was a professional competitor for more than 20 years, competing as both a bareback rider and bull rider. In addition to competing on the premier Unleash The Beast in the late 1990s, Fisher is a four-time Australian Professional Rodeo Champion and holds an All-Around and Bull Riding Championship in Canada.

Team Australia is the lone contingent yet to field a complete roster. Due to injuries sustained my initial Team Australia members, Dunn will announce the final rider that will compete for the nation in the coming weeks.

The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA will mark the first iteration of the event since 2020 when Team Canada rode to a fourth-place result. Historically, Team Canada has twice finished a national best third. They registered the bronze efforts at the inaugural event on home soil in Edmonton, Alberta, in 2017, and again in 2018 when they event travelled to Sydney, Australia.  

Two-time and reigning PBR Canada Champion Coverchuk and 2020 title holder Buttar headline the Canuck roster. For Coverchuk he made his lone appearance on the squad in 2017, while Buttar, who will be competing for the first time since a groin injury sidelined him from the final day of the 2021 season, will be making his fifth trip to the event to represent the Maple Leaf.

Parsonage and Radford have both earned three prior selections to Team Canada, while Hansen was a standout for the team in his two consecutive selections in both 2019 and 2020.

Action for the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, gets underway on Saturday, March 5 at 5:45 p.m. CST in Arlington, Texas, at AT&T Stadium.

Adding to the blockbuster weekend, via a landmark partnership between PBR and Teton Ridge, following the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, The American will take over the home of the NFL’s Dallas Cowboys on Sunday, March 6 starting at 12:00 p.m. CST.

The American, the richest single-day rodeo in the world, features competitors in all eight rodeo disciplines: barrel racing, breakaway roping, steer wrestling, team roping (heading and heeling), tie down roping, bareback riding, saddle bronc riding and bull riding. Each qualifier who makes it to the 2022 finals will be eligible for their discipline’s $100,000 prize money and will also have their shot at the bonus millions.

The American and PBR last united for a historic weekend of Western sports at AT&T Stadium in 2018. Throughout the weekend, PBR set a record for the highest-attended, single-day event in its history, hosting more than 46,000 fans inside AT&T Stadium for the elite tour Major.

Tickets for both events are on sale now and can be purchased at or Tickets for both events start at just $20, taxes and fees not included. While individual event tickets are available for purchase at varying price levels, fans can save up to 20% by purchasing weekend combo packages to experience both Saturday and Sunday.

For fans wanting to make this one-of-a-kind weekend even more memorable, VIP tickets are available for both the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, and The American. Guests can enjoy premium seating closest to the action, question-and-answer presentations, behind-the-scenes-tours and much more. For more information or to purchase VIP tickets and premium experiences, eventgoers can visit