Flawless Griffin Smeltzer Wins Season-Launch PBR Canada Touring Pro Division Event in Dawson Creek, British Columbia

By: Kacie Albert  Tuesday, November 29, 2022 @ 9:02 AM

Griffin Smeltzer won the 2023 season-launch PBR Canada event in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. Photo: Bull Stock Media.

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – At the 2023 season-launch PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada event in Dawson Creek, British Columbia, no rider was more dominant than Griffin Smeltzer (Claresholm, Alberta). Going a perfect 2-for-2, Smeltzer won the Touring Pro Division’s PBR Dawson Creek, surging to an early lead in the race to be crowned the 2023 PBR Canada Champion.

When competition got underway in Round 1, the reigning Glen Keeley Award winner a Austin Gamblers rider first went head-to-head with Disco Daze (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock). Proving the perfect pair, Smeltzer reached the requisite 8 for a round-winning 86 points.

Keen to defend his position atop the event leaderboard, Smeltzer next readied to take on Positively Bangin (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.).

As the last man to erupt from the chutes, Smeltzer delivered his second score, awarded 87.5 points to clinch the event win.

For his efforts, Smeltzer earned 38 Canadian points, slingshot to the No. 1 ranking in the nation.

Weston Davidson (Strongfield, Saskatchewan) was second, netting 28 national points.

The young gun also delivered a flawless outing inside Ovintive Events Centre. After riding Wutang (Vold Rodeo) for 83 points in Round 1, Davidson conquered Flick The Switch (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) for 86 points in the final round.

Davidson surged to No. 2 in the national standings, 10 points back of No. 1 Smeltzer.

As the last rider to deliver back-to-back qualified rides, Cater Sahli (Red Deer, Alberta) was third.

Sahli’s 80-point ride atop Out Work’m (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) in Round 1 and 78-point score aboard Socks (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) in the championship round earned him both the podium finish and 24 national points.

Fourth was championship round winner Jake Gardner (Fort St. John, British Columbia).

Despite bucking off Cheech (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) in a heart-breaking 7.65 seconds in Round 1, the “Prince of The Peace Country” returned determined in the championship round after advancing on time.

Making the most of his second chance, Gardner rode Stutterin (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) for an event-best 88 points.

Gardner left his home province event having earned 16 points, ranked No. 4 in the national standings, 22 points back of No. 1 Smeltzer.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Stefan Tonita (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan).Tonita’s 85-point ride atop Tank Abbott (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) in Round 1 garnered him 14 national points.

In the bull pen, Chosen (Vold Rodeo) bucked supreme, named the Bull of the Event. The powerful animal athlete was marked a commanding 45 points in Round 1 for his 2.15-second buckoff of Charlie Yahey (Charlie Lake, British Columbia).

Stay tuned in to PBRCanada.com and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
PBR Dawson Creek
Ovintiv Events Centre – Dawson Creek, British Columbia
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Griffin Smeltzer, 86-87.5-173.50-38 Points.
2. Weston Davidson, 83-86-169.00-28 Points.
3. Carter Sahli, 80-78-158.00-24 Points.
4. Jake Gardner [1], 0-88-88.00-16 Points.
5. Stefan Tonita, 85-0-85.00-14 Points.
6. Cody Coverchuk, 0-83-83.00-11 Points.
7. Kobe Whitford, 82.5-0-82.50-11 Points.
8. Tyler Craig, 82-0-82.00-10 Points.
Cole Wagner, 0-0-0.00
Jake Maher, 0-0-0.00
Jake Gardner [2], 0-0-0.00
Callum Miller, 0-0-0.00
Cole Young, 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II [1], 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II [2], 0-0-0.00
Kyle Brown, 0-0-0.00
William VanderLeest, 0-0-0.00
Osman Alvarez, 0-0-0.00
Justin Williams, 0-0-0.00
Zachery King, 0-0-0.00
Desmond Lambert, 0-0-0.00
Eric O'Flynn, 0-0-0.00
Elijah Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Cody Fraser, 0-0-0.00
Clay Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Brahmer Gaehring, 0-0-0.00
Clay Flanagan, 0-0-0.00
Charlie Yahey, 0-0-0.00
Chad Neufeld, 0-0-0.00
Lane Jensen, 0-0-0.00