Two-Time PBR Canada Champion Cody Coverchuk Wins 2024 Season-Launch Event in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan

By: Kacie Albert  Saturday, November 25, 2023 @ 11:30 PM

Cody Coverchuk won the 2024 PBR Canada season-launch event in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan. Photo: Covy Moore/

LLOYDMINSTER, Sask. – As the 2024 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada season got underway this past weekend in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, no rider was more dominant than two-time Champion Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan). Going a perfect 2-for-2, Coverchuk won the PBR Winter Classic at the Lloydminster Agricultural Exhibition Association.

Coverchuck first lit up the scoreboard in Round 1 when he teamed with Almost Gone (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) for an 86-point score.

The reserved Saskatchewan man then defended his position atop the leaderboard when he won Round 2, clinching the event win when he made the requisite 8 atop Sippin Bravo (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) for 85.5 points.

Compliments of the event win, Coverchuk netted 60.5 national points. He vaulted to an early No. 1 rank in the race for the 2024 PBR Canada Championship, and accompanying $100,000 bonus, now 19.5 points ahead of No. 2 Jake Maher (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia).

Maher finished second, netting 41 national points.

After riding Poudmaker (Skori Bucking Bulls) for 83 points in Round 1, the Australian completed his perfect performance with an 82-point effort atop Farva (CS Bucking Bulls) in Round 2.

Chad Hartman (Lancer, Saskatchewan) was third. Collecting 30 national points, Hartman surged to No. 3 in the Canadian standings, just 30.5 points back of No. 1 Coverchuk.

Hartman electrified the raucous crowd in Round 1 when he topped Mad Hatter (CS Bucking Bulls) for 80 points.

In Round 2, he was then tasked with McGregor (Vold Rodeo). Remaining in perfect time with the animal athlete, Hartman reached the whistle, awarded 83 points.

Compliments of a 77.5-point ride atop True Grit (Skori Bucking Bulls) and 84-point score aboard Autopilot (CS Bucking Bulls), Micheal Ostashek (Edson, Alberta) was fourth.

Taking home 20.5 national points, Ostashek is now No. 4 in Canada, 40 points behind No. 1 Coverchuk.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth, and the final rider to go a perfect 2-for-2, was Garrett Green (Meeting Creek, Alberta).

Green registered the fifth-best effort of Round 1, covering Destination Unknown (Vold Rodeo) for 82.5 points, then delivered a Top 10-effort in Round 2 when he conquered Al Capone (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) for 74 points.

The veteran Albertan left Lloydminster having earned 16 national points. Chasing his first PBR Canada Championship, Green is now No. 5 in the nation, 44.5 points back of top-ranked Coverchuk.

In the bull pen, Jam It (Vold Rodeo) bucked supreme, crowned the Bull of the Event. Bucking in Round 2, the bovine athlete posted an unrivaled 43.5-point score for his 2.43-second buckoff of Keaton Martz (Forestburg, Alberta).

The 2024 PBR Canada season continues Saturday, December 2 as the Touring Pro Division travels to Dawson Creek, British Columbia, and Ovintiv Events Centre. Action for PBR Dawson Creek begins at 7 p.m. MST.

Stay tuned in to and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
PBR Winter Classic
Lloydminster Agricultural Exhibition Association – Lloydminster, Saskatchewan
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Cody Coverchuk, 86-85.5-171.50-60.5 Points.
2. Jake Maher, 83-82-165.00-41 Points.
3. Chad Hartman, 80-83-163.00-30 Points.
4. Micheal Ostashek, 77.5-84-161.50-20.5 Points.
5. Garrett Green, 82.5-74-156.50-16 Points.
6. Ashton Sahli, 86-0-86.00-18.5 Points.
7. Aaron Roy, 0-84-84.00-15 Points.
(tie). Marshall Senger, 84-0-84.00-14.5 Points.
9. Stefan Tonita, 0-81.5-81.50-10 Points.
10. Fabian Dueck, 78-0-78.00-2 Points.
Weston Davidson, 0-0-0.00
Orrin Marshall, 0-0-0.00
Keaton Martz, 0-0-0.00
Zachery King, 0-0-0.00
Eric O'Flynn, 0-0-0.00
Elijah Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Clay Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Gage Hillis, 0-0-0.00