Surging Australian Donnie Rutherfurd Wins Final Night of the PBR Canada Touring Pro Division’s Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’

By: Kacie Albert  Saturday, July 6, 2024 @ 11:30 PM

Donnie Rutherfurd won the fifth iteration of the PBR Canada Touring Pro Division's Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin'. Photo: Covy Moore/

CALGARY, Alta. –  At the fifth and final iteration of the Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’ Saturday evening, part of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders Canada) Touring Pro Division, Donnie Rutherfurd (Mount Isa, Queensland) rode a cut above the rest, winning the event at Grey Eagle Resort and Casino in Calgary, Alberta, to crack the Top 25 in the race for the 2024 Canadian Championship.

Rutherfurd, who rides for the Texas Rattlers in the separate PBR Teams league, clinched his first victory of the season on Canadian soil when he bested Langham Kid (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) for 88.5 points.

The golden finish garnered Rutherfurd a crucial 38 national points. He rose from No. 34 to No. 25 in the race for the 2024 PBR Canada Championship and accompanying $100,000 bonus.

Canadian No. 1 Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan) stumbled, unable to extend his lead atop the standings as he chases his record-tying third national title. He was bucked off by Wrangler Tough (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp) in 2.13 seconds.

Coverchuck remains 256.5 points ahead of No. 2 Nick Tetz (Calgary, Alberta). Tetz, who won the three previous nights of Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’ competition, did not ride Saturday evening.

The Missouri Thunder’s Andrew Alvidrez (Seminole, Texas) was second, garnering 28 national points. He earned the podium finish courtesy of his 87.5-point effort atop Bench Warrant (X6 Ranch & Bucking Cattle/Hartman).

Alvidrez surged from No. 40 to No. 29 in the national standings.

Cauy Schmidt (Coronation, Alberta) parlayed an 87-point score aboard Lil’ Hooch (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) into a third-place finish, earning 18 national points.

The 2022 PBR Canada Rookie of the Year gained two positions in the national standings, rising from No. 26 to No. 24.

Fourth was Weston Davidson (Strongfield, Saskatchewan).

Davidson collected 15 national points after riding Stand By You (Eno Bucking Bulls) for 86 points. The Saskatchewan man left Calgary with 15 national points.

Chasing his first PBR Canada Championship this November, Davidson remained No. 3 in the standings. He is now 524.5 points behind the top spot.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Jake Gardner (Fort St. John, British Columbia). Gardner covered Night Stalker (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/B2 Braithwaite Ranches) for 85.5 points to earn 13 national points.

The Prince of the Peach Country remained No. 4 in Canada, inching within 578 points of No. 1 Coverchuk.

In the bull pen, Nobody (Eno Bucking Bulls) was unrivaled, crowned the Bull of the Event. He was awarded a 44-point bull score for his 1.9-second buckoff of Tim Lipsett (Lumsden, Saskatchewan).

The 2024 PBR Canada seasons continues Wednesday, July 10 in Kinsella, Alberta. Action for the Touring Pro Division’s Kinsella Gravel Dome Bullarama at the Kinsella Fair Grounds gets underway at 7:00pm MDT.

Stay tuned in to and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’ #5
Grey Eagle Resort and Casino – Calgary, Alberta
Event Leaders (Round 1- Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Donnie Rutherfurd [2], 88.5-88.50-38 Points.
2. Andrew Alvidrez, 87.5-87.50-28 Points.
3. Cauy Schmidt, 87-87.00-18 Points.
4. Weston Davidson, 86-86.00-15 Points.
5. Jake Gardner, 85.5-85.50-13 Points.
6. Tyler Craig, 82-82.00-12 Points.
7. Elijah Mora [1], 81-81.00-11 Points.
8. Coy Robbins, 77-77.00-2 Points.
9. Dixon Tattrie [2], 76.5-76.50-1 Points.
Cody Coverchuk, 0-0.00
Jared Parsonage, 0-0.00
Chanse Switzer, 0-0.00
Dakota Buttar, 0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0.00
Cody Fraser, 0-0.00
Dixon Tattrie [1], 0-0.00
Chad Hartman, 0-0.00
Donnie Rutherfurd [1], 0-0.00
Griffin Koester, 0-0.00
William Barrows, 0-0.00
Wyatt Rogers [1], 0-0.00
Wyatt Rogers [2], 0-0.00
Elijah Mora [2], 0-0.00
Tim Lipsett, 0-0.00
Tanner Skene, 0-0.00
Coy Doore, 0-0.00
Mason Ward, 0-0.00
Brahmer Gaehring, 0-0.00
Brayden Shore, 0-0.00